Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
9

Time for Something Sweet

A Writing Prompt About Where It All Began
9

Hello, writers and readers.

We’re keeping it short and sweet this week. I’m offering you a few recipes, and I hope you’ll enjoy the fun three minute mini documentary above. It was filmed and edited by my brother, Danny DeLorenzo, and tells the evolution story of the brownies I often bake for my weekly writing workshops at Laguna Writers, in San Francisco.

You can find the recipe for those brownies (including a gluten-free version!) by clicking on the photo below. And at the end of this shorter post, please find your weekly writing prompt.

Chris_DeLorenzo017.jpg

If you’re interested in more recipes, or want to learn more about me, check out my memoir cookbook, Kitchen Inheritance, by clicking on the image of the cover below.

If you’re interested to learn more about my workshops at Laguna Writers, send me an email or leave a comment here. The next session begins in mid-October.

Now for the writing prompt:

Think back to a time in your life when you baked with someone, and tell us about this person, this time, and what you prepared. Perhaps you watched more than participated, and enjoyed the sweet results. Either way, this prompt could open up a memory or an association that might surprise you, and is a great character exercise. Be sure to include sensory details and description. (Note this doesn’t have to be about you, per se; you could imagine this in the life of a character you are working with.)

Someone once told me that baking was a generous act. Keep that in mind as you write in response to this prompt for 20 minutes.

Bon appetit!

Discussion about this podcast

The Writing Catalyst: Prompts, Recipes, and Inspiration
The Writing Catalyst: Prompts, Recipes, and Inspiration
Authors
Christopher P. DeLorenzo